In order to discuss the matter of data privacy in the context of smartphones, one can regard one's smartphone as a personal diary stored in the pocket. From thoughts to location logs, everything is collected in this diary and is available to anyone interested. In the era of social media, the privacy matters tend to become an issue because of the accurate targeted advertising. However, it is possible to solve this problem easily with the help of specific techniques that are provided by Google and Apple in their smartphones.
In the first place, in order to understand how it works, one should keep in mind that it is unnecessary to be a hacker to spy on spies. Both companies provide users with such function and it is called the App Privacy Report (iPhone) and Privacy Dashboard (Android). It works like a camera, giving a possibility to monitor the data access activities of the apps.
Since Apple decided to pay attention to the privacy concerns several years ago, introducing iOS 14 update, one will find the option of asking a user if he or she agrees that the application tracks his or her activity. However, the App Privacy Report will give one more understanding of the apps' activities.
To find this function on iPhone, it is necessary to open the Settings application and find Privacy & Security at the bottom. Then, it is necessary to find the App Privacy Report and turn it on. One should use his or her smartphone for at least three days in order to collect enough data, setting a trap for a mouse.
When it comes to gathering the data, one will see the timeline of activity. One will notice, for example, that Instagram accesses the user's microphone ten times per hour or a game accesses the user's location data while he or she is sleeping. All of it gives one something to think about. Though these apps do not have any harmful intentions, they access the data in a way that seems strange (a calculator accesses location data).
In Android devices, this functionality is called the Privacy Dashboard. It works in the same way and gives one the possibility to see a twenty-four hours timeline of the apps' activity. To get to this menu, it is necessary to find it in the other options of the Settings menu and tap on Privacy. It is usually right at the beginning of the menu.
One will see the pie chart that shows what permissions are used most often. One is able to observe the whole picture, clicking on such categories as Location, Camera, or Microphone. In case one notices that a flashlight application uses his camera every five minutes, one can think about deleting it, as it is suspicious.
Yes, sometimes apps need to access the sensor in order to execute their functions, which is completely fine. For example, the Waze navigation application requires the access to the location data and TikTok requires the access to the camera in order to record videos. However, when apps require such permissions that have nothing to do with their main functions, it is a problem.
For example, why would a game need to access the user's contact list? This is when one needs to become a detective and check if the app works properly. Luckily, it is easy to revoke these permissions with several taps. One should not feel guilty about restricting app's access, as the owner of the device has the final word.
Another trick is connected with the network activity of the app. The report shows the domains that the application contacts. In case one sees many unknown websites that the application sends data to, it means that it sells the user's data to the advertisers and analytics.
One can think that it is quite technical information and it is not interesting for the average user. However, one should remember that user's data is rather valuable and millions of dollars are earned from it. Companies build user profiles based on one's shopping preferences, location, interests, search requests. In other words, monitoring the apps' activities is the only way to prevent becoming a product.
It is also a useful technique for identifying the presence of malware or any other suspicious software. If one notices that the application keeps communicating with a server located in a country far from the user's location, there might be something wrong. Noticing such things on time, one can avoid serious problems caused by viruses. It is like having a health check up for one's smartphone.
After that, the solution of the problem is rather simple. It is necessary to go to the settings of the application and toggle off the permissions that are not required by it. In case the application does not work with the restricted access, one will need to make a decision whether or not one needs this application on the smartphone.
Actually, I usually just delete such applications, as it is rather easy to find another game in the App Store or Play Store that is more respectful in terms of user's privacy. There is no need to use the applications that regard the user's data as the gold mine.
It is necessary to check these reports regularly like notifications or charging a battery. Perhaps, one can mark the Sunday evening for checking and it will take only a few minutes to get peace of mind. It is quite empowering to catch the app in the act.
Nowadays, smartphones know about us more than our best friends. Protecting this information is not the skill that is possessed only by tech-savvy people or conspiracy theorists. It is the skill that everyone needs to develop, as it is similar to driving a car or balancing a checkbook. One would not let anyone to read his diary and it is the same with the applications.
So, one should check the reports right now. Turn on the function, gather some information and be prepared to be surprised by the results. One will see that the smartphone has done much more than one thought. Happy hunting!
0 Comments